Two days ago, I discussed the setup and rules for Game 1 in Section 1 of the June 2007 LSAT. (You'll find these explanations most useful if you print yourself a copy of the test and have it handy.) And yesterday, I took a look at Question 1. Question 2 asks "Which one of the following must be true about any acceptable product code?" Unlike Question 1, Question 2 doesn't give us any new information. So we have to answer Question 2 solely based on the initial requirements of the game. (Important: The new rule that was in play for Question 1 doesn't apply for subsequent questions.) The starting conditions implied two templates for completing the game. We learned, before we even looked at the questions, that any acceptable product code MUST be in one of the following two forms:
1 2 0/3 __ 3/4 (where the third spot and the fifth spot can EACH be 3, but they can't SIMULTANEOUSLY be 3).
2 4 0/1 __ 1/3 (where the third spot and the fifth spot can EACH be 1, but they can't SIMULTANEOUSLY be 1).
For question 2, we're asked to identify an answer that "must be true." This means the correct answer must always be true in both World 1 and World 2. If it doesn't have to always be true in every scenario, then it can't properly be called "must be true."
If there's one correct answer that must be true, then there are four incorrect answers that could be false. (The incorrect answers might be false in all circumstances, or might be true sometimes and false sometimes. Only the correct answer will be true in all circumstances.) Let's see what we've got in the answer choices.
A) This does have to be true in World 1, but it does NOT have to be true in World 2. (In fact it can't be true in World 2.) Since we need to find an answer choice that must always be true, this one is out.
B) This does have to be true in World 1, but it does NOT have to be true in World 2. (It could be true, or could be false, in world 2.) Since we need to find an answer choice that must always be true, this one is out.
C) Yep. In both World 1 and World 2, the digit 2 has to be used before any possible spot where 3 could be used. So no matter where the digit 3 goes, in either world, 2 will always be before 3. This is going to be our correct answer, but I'll look at D and E just to be sure.
D) This doesn't have to be true in either world. Not even close.
E) This does have to be true in World 2, but it could be true or false in World 1. So this is out, and our answer is C.